side menu icon

Other Awards

Girl Scouts care about others and love helping out! Girl Scouts offers a variety of awards to recognize girls who have gone above and beyond to help other Girl Scouts or their community in a meaningful way.


National Leadership Awards

Community Service Bar: A Community Service bar indicates that a Cadette, Senior, or Ambassador Girl Scout is making a difference in her community — and that she is practicing the values of the Girl Scout Law.

When you earn a Cadette, Senior, or Ambassador Community Service bar, you are making a difference in your community – and practicing the values of the Girl Scout Law. It’s also a great way to get involved with a cause you care about.

To earn a Community Service Bar, first choose an organization you’d like to volunteer with. The organization will need to agree to give you instructions about the work you’ll be doing.

Once you’ve chosen your organization, complete at least 20 hours to earn the bar. Then, submit your Community Service Bar form to Council for final approval.

CSA Community Service Form 2018


Service to Girl Scouting Bar: This award is earned by Cadettes, Seniors, and Ambassadors.

If you choose to volunteer at least 20 hours to the Girl Scout organization, you can receive the Service to Girl Scouting Bar. For example, you might volunteer your time at a special event for younger girls, be an office assistant for your council or service unit, or help with special projects. Council approval is not needed before beginning, but be sure to submit your Service to Girl Scouts form and time log to Council for final approval.

CSA Service to Scouting Form


Torch Awards: This award recognizes a Cadette, Senior, or Ambassador Girl Scout who acts as a leader in her community.

The Gold Torch Award for Ambassadors

Torch Application

The Silver and Gold Torch Award for Seniors

Torch Application

The Silver Award Torch Award for Cadettes

Torch Application

NOTE: Your service hours for these bars need to be separate from those you use toward other awards. Each bar represents a new project, and can only be earned once per age level.